(Missed) Connection(s)

 

May, Canada

You spoke to me of the possibilities of relationships. I had brought up their challenges and the disappointments. I glimpsed only occasionally into your eyes, vacantly, to feign attention. I was distracted by the little boy sitting on the bench, his little legs dangling as he turned to his side, face tilted up towards his mother; “I love you, I love you,” he told her, stretching out his words, his eyes squinting and his face awash in a smile. My gaze dragged along the floor and back to your face, still vacant, and separated by a thousand miles of land and sea.

Music: Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright

Leave a Reply

