Graceland, Philippines

Traveling is an exhausting endeavour in large part because it requires me to be more open to the lives unfolding before me. When on the move and transitioning through different landscapes, I can’t help but notice the details of the lives of others and become absorbed into these stories which, granted, are mostly fabricated elaborated in my mind.

This is how I spent much of 2010-2011. Aside from the material I’m attempting to incorporate into my thesis, I have been remiss to share the accounts of my travels, which I continue to play out during dull moments in transit or times of silence, looking out into the valley below me. In the upcoming weeks and months I will try to remedy this neglect by recounting the meaningful experiences that I carry with me, starting with the following photos from the Philippines.

I’ve been meditating lately on the notion of solitude and the boundaries between silence and noise. These photos were made at a fast-food joint called Graceland, in Legazpi City, Bicol, Philippines.

Music: Olafur Arnalds – Lag fyrir Ömmu

Leave a Reply

