Powell Street Festival

I haven’t found the time to share some images from my time in Vancouver upon returning. I’ve been lazy with the camera and been perhaps too passive with it at home ground. Still, here are some images from the Powell Street Festival, an annual celebration of Japanese-Canadian arts, culture, and heritage, which took place at the end of July.

Is it still happy time when the mask comes off?

I didn’t know the name of this character. Now I do.

Polar bear and penguin.

Shito-Ryu Karate wood-breaking attempts.

Bonsai demonstration.

Spam sushi; abomination.

This being my first time at the festival, I didn’t really know what to expect. I still don’t really know what I thought; I think my energy was more invested in trying to cope with being in a crowd in North America again. Seeing “Japanese culture” presented in this forum was confusing but, in retrospect, fostered a rather joyful atmosphere. I think the mediation worked, and sometimes, I remember just how pleasant Vancouver can be.

Amy Winehouse – Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow

One comment

Leave a Reply

