My Father’s Birthday

My father’s birthday was quite some time ago, but today I had time to finally get around to baking a celebratory cake. I decided to be bold and part from the tried-and-trusted carrot cake with almonds to test a new recipe: Pear and Ginger Cake.

A favorable way to start the day: Saying good morning with freshly made waffles and raspberry+strawberry sauce, and a dollop of whipped cream.

My mother made a flavorful fish soup for dinner.

I like my world organized. Note that the cointreau replaces the rum called for in the recipe, because I didn’t have any of the latter available.

This is a very simple recipe, but required a bit more time since I only had two baking pans for the three required layers.  The liquid in the bowl is the homemade caramel, which was used as a glaze.

Almost ready for the party.

All suited up, and about to be dressed with chopped candied ginger.

Happy birthday!

Music: kaare norge – always on my mind

6 comments

  1. the cake looks so yummy!!

    btw glen, we had a potluck at adrian’s place this sunday. you should have returned back to vancouver, you missed out. we had so much good food! we miss you here in vancouver!

Leave a Reply

